Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on Facebook

Despite a disappointing Tour Championship, Dustin Johnson is the runaway winner of Razzball’s 2016 PGA Tour Player of the Year.

The 32-year old native of Columbia, South Carolina won three times this season. In addition to his first major at the U.S. Open, he won the WGC Bridgestone Invitational and the BMW Championship.

DJ finished the season with a total of 1,640 points, 328 more than Australia’s Jason Day, the #1 player in the Official World Golf Rankings.

Day failed to win a major in the 2015-2016 season, but was also a three-time tour winner. The 2015 PGA champion’s victories came at the Arnold Palmer Invitational, the WGC-Dell Match Play and at the Players Championship.

Reed Finishes Third in 2016 PGA Tour Player of the Year Race

One of the most consistent players on Tour finished third in the 2016 PGA Tour Player of the Year rankings. American Patrick Reed, up to a career high 7th in the world rankings, piled up 11 top 10’s on the PGA Tour this season. Those high finishes included a win at The Barclays, the opening event of the 2016 PGA Tour playoffs.

Close Battle for Positions Fourth thru Sixth

Australian Adam Scott edged Jordan Spieth and Rory McIlroy for 4th place in the final standings, with just 8 points separating positions fourth thru sixth.

Scott won twice in March at the Honda Classic and the WGC Cadillac Championship. Spieth was also a two-time winner. His victories came at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions and at the Dean and Deluca Invitational.

McIlroy struggled by his standards for most of the season, before putting it together to win a pair of FedEx Cup playoff events, including the Tour Championship, and the overall FedEx Cup title. The Northern Irishmen also had an emotional win at his home Dubai Duty Free Irish Open on the European Tour.

Grillo Wins Rookie of the Year

Argentina’s Emiliano Grillo finished 25th in the standings to claim Rookie of the Year honors.

Here are the final Top 20 players in the Razzball 2016 PGA Tour Player of the Year standings:

2016 PGA Tour Player of the Year Final Standings

Pos Player Nation Wins Points
1 Dustin Johnson USA 3 1,640
2 Jason Day AUS 3 1,312
3 Patrick Reed USA 1 1,024
4 Adam Scott AUS 2 998
5 Jordan Spieth USA 2 995
6 Rory McIlroy NIR 2 990
7 Paul Casey ENG 0 819
8 Hideki Matsuyama JPN 1 768
9 Jimmy Walker USA 1 735
10 Phil Mickelson USA 0 680
11 Kevin Chappell USA 0 675
12 Matt Kuchar USA 0 670
13 Ryan Moore USA 1 635
14 Henrik Stenson SWE 1 623
15 Branden Grace SAF 1 622
16 Brooks Koepka USA 0 622
17 J.B. Holmes USA 0 615
18 Brandt Snedeker USA 1 614
19 Russell Knox SCO 2 610
20 Kevin Na USA 0 587

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *